Software Quality

As you may know, I’m working on an open source project called Visual MASM which is an IDE to create assembly applications for Windows just as easy as the Delphi or Visual Studio IDEs provide. Well, at least that is my goal.

I was looking back on why I want to create a commercial application in the Real Estate industry using my very own assembler IDE and was reading what I wrote about using assembly in the first place: Why Assembler?

There are so many languages and tools available today in order to program a solution. I have used almost all of them in the past 32 years of programming. Why on earth use assembly for Windows? For a clear business reason, Windows “owns” the world wide market and is used in over 90% of computers as of today. Never mind Linux, MacOS, etc. I mean, Windows “owns” it. Period. It makes total sense to develop for Windows when you create a commercial solution.

The fact that Windows owns the market; however, is still secondary to my motivation to create a commercial application for Windows using the assembly language. The main reason is really: Software Quality.

Quality in general, in my opinion, means paying attention to every detail. Because one pays attention to every detail, you are forced to make many decisions. As you abstract into higher languages, these decisions have been made for you. Because of this, you are no longer able to make detailed decisions. In order to pay attention to the detail of software quality, you have passion to follow through with it. Being able to make these detailed decisions also offers freedom and control of the creation process. That’s the ultimate power of high, software quality. You must have control in order to make software quality decisions.

So, paying attention to detail with passion is equivalent to high software quality. It is that simple.

 

One thought on “Software Quality

  1. Dear Thomas!
    I want use Visual MASM.
    I wanna Pay/or Donate you. How can i do?
    Please give me your e-mail address, for more help.
    My e-mail address : tatai.laszlo@com.
    Sincerely : Laszlo Tatai.

Leave a comment