Object Persistence, Part 3 – Source Code

In part 2 of my Object Persistence series, I’ve touched on the issues that still exist today.

In part 3, I’ve published a complete sample Visual Studio 2012 solution on GitHub that demonstrates object persistence using a db4o persistence provider. Over time, I will add additional sample persistence providers for Redis, SQL Server, and possibly a NoSQL provider such as SimpleDB (one of Amazon’s great NoSQL databases).

This sample solution includes complete server side and client side layers. The Server side runs as a REST based Web API 2 service. The server portion also includes a simple domain model and, of course, the persistence provider and how it is implemented. I will update the solution over time, expand the domain model, UI, etc. as required.

The client side is a WPF application that consumes the REST service. The payload to and from the REST service is via JSON objects.

ObjectPersistencePart3_WPF

I hope you like it. You can use this sample solution as a template to start simple or very complex software solutions. This solution can easily be taken and split across different nodes in a cluster of Amazon AWS EC2 instances, for example. However, for a cloud based solution, your persistence would have to support certain features. I will go into details when I add the Redis persistence provider.

Instead of writing a very long blog post, I will post a screen cast video and go through the solution. I think this will make more sense and you have a chance to go through the source code with me. So, go ahead and get the latest version from GitHub and start playing with it.

One thought on “Object Persistence, Part 3 – Source Code

Leave a Reply

